Home News NFPA Announces Champions of 2022 Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge Events

NFPA Announces Champions of 2022 Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge Events


Iowa State University, Cleveland State University Win Overall Competitions

Milwaukee, WI – May 18, 2021 — Iowa State University and Cleveland State University took the Overall Champion Awards in the 2022 Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge events hosted by Norgren and Danfoss Power Solutions. This year’s program featured two separate Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge competitions in an effort to reach more students and industry members. The events took place April 20-22 and April 27-29, 2022.

The Vehicle Challenge is a competition that combines two technology platforms that are not normally associated with one another—human-powered vehicles and fluid power. Teams design and build their own fluid power vehicles and then compete against each other in three races with the help of NFPA industry sponsors, judges, and mentors.

The champions of the Norgren-hosted event are:
• Overall Champion: Cleveland State University
• 2nd Place: University of Akron
• 3rd Place: Arizona State University

The champions of the Danfoss-hosted event are:
• Overall Champion: Iowa State University
• 2nd Place: Murray State University
• 3rd Place: University of Cincinnati

This year’s events also highlighted the use of pneumatics and electronics in addition to the traditional hydraulic systems in teams’ designs. The prize for Best Use of Pneumatics, sponsored by Norgren, was taken home by Murray State University and California Polytechnic State University. The prize for Innovative Use of Electronics, sponsored by IFP Motion Solutions Inc., was taken home by University of Cincinnati and Purdue University.